WV3C: a People-Powered Program

In mid-2014 nearly 200 climate-concerned West Virginians gathered at Blackwater Falls State Park in Tucker County, West Virginia to hear over a dozen experts speak about the impacts of the climate crisis on the Mountain State.  

That program began the work of the West Virginia Center on Climate Change (WV3C).  Since 2014, scores of experts and thousands of climate-concerned citizens have participated in WV3C’s educational programs statewide. Thousands more follow WV3C’s science-based outreach updates online. 

This kind of “people power” is necessary to solve the climate crisis. Join us!

WV3C Advisory Board

James Van Nostrand

James Van Nostrand has been the Director of the Center for Energy and Sustainable Development at the WVU College of Law since 2011. Prior to that, he was the Executive Director of the Pace Law School Energy and Climate Center. He holds a Juris Doctor from the University of Iowa and amassed two decades of private practice energy and regulatory law experience prior to entering academia.

Emily Calandrelli

Emily Calandrelli. a proud native West Virginian, is a TV personality and Emmy-nominated science educator, known for her work on Fox’s “Xploration Outer Space” and the Netflix hit series “Bill Nye Saves the World.” She is the author of the “Ada Lace Adventures” children’s book series. Emily has an undergraduate degree in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering from WVU along with a Master’s degree in Aeronautics and Astronautics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.





Rafe Pomerance

Rafe Pomerance has been a leading advocate on climate change issues for over 40 years. He was Operating Director of Friends of the Earth in the early 1980s, followed by a stint as Senior Associate at the World Research Institute, and was a founder of the Climate Policy Center. He is currently chairman of Arctic 21, a network of organizations focused on communicating issues of Arctic climate change. He served as Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for Environment and Development under President Bill Clinton from 1993 to 1999.

Patrick McGinley

Patrick McGinley has been a professor of law at West Virginia University since 1975. He has written in numerous legal texts, including “Coal Law & Regulation,” and his article and “Climate Change and Coal: Exploring the Dark Side.” He is a founder of the Eastern Mineral Law Foundation and serves on the Board of Directors of Our Children’s Trust, where he has been instrumental in formulating the Juliana vs. United States lawsuit.

Evan Hansen

Evan Hansen is the President of Downstream Strategies, an environmental and economic development consulting firm based in Morgantown, WV. He earned a B.S. in Computer Science from MIT in 1988 and an M.S. in Energy and Resources from UC Berkeley in 1997.  He has been a member of the West Virginia House of Delegates since 2018.

Evan Hansen is the President of Downstream Strategies, an environmental and economic development consulting firm based in Morgantown, WV. He earned an M.S. in Energy and Resources from UC Berkeley in 1997, and a B.S. in Computer Science and Engineering from MIT in 1988.  He has been a member of the West Virginia House of Delegates since 2018.




Tom Rodd


Tom Rodd is a member of the Board of Friends of Blackwater and the Supervisor of the WV3C. He attended Berea College, Fairmont State University, and the WVU College of Law.  His legal career included service as a Senior WV Deputy Attorney General and Senior Law Clerk at the WV Supreme Court. 

He trained in “Climate-Smart Conservation Strategies” (U.S. Fish and Wildlife) and “Turning Climate Impacts into Action” (Union of Concerned Scientists).  Tom is the banjo-picking creator of “Kitchen Klimate Science,” a popular program in West Virginia schools.

Logan Thorne


Logan Thorne is the Director of WV3C. Born and raised in the heart of West Virginia’s Northern coalfields, he earned a B.A. in Political Science at WVU, where his involvement in the Model United Nations Club led to a growing interest in climate and energy issues. 

Logan attended Al Gore’s Climate Reality Leadership Training and is a member of the Board of Directors of the West Virginia Citizens’ Climate Lobby. Since 2018, he has coordinated Friends of Blackwater climate change education programs, most notably the 2018 National Energy Conference, co-sponsored by the WVU College of Law Center for Energy and Sustainable Development. He lives in Morgantown with his dogs, Newman and Millie, and is an avid sports fan, supporting the Washington Nationals and Florida State Seminoles.


Here is a gallery of WV3C program speakers with a wide range of experience and expertise on issues relating to global warming and the climate crisis.  We appreciate their knowledge, work, and participation in our programs. 

Sarah Forbes

US Dept. of Energy

David Bassage

Ace Adventure Resort

Louis Iverson

USDA Forest Service

Herman Mays

Marshall University

Jim Schaberl

Shenandoah National Park

Lori Petrauski

National Ecological Observatory Network

Hari Swarup Jammulamadaka

West Virginia University

Emmett Pepper

Energy Efficient West Virginia

Emily Linn

Environmental Protection Agency

Joe Trimboli

Army Corps of Engineers

Winston Smith

University of Alaska

Lise Van Susteren


Susan Clayton

College of Wooster

Daniel Barnett

Johns Hopkins

Chelsey Gridley-Smith

Assoc. of County & City Health Officials

Luann Brink

Allegheny County Health Dept.

Ned Ketyer

Southwest Pennsylvania Environmental Health Project

Nicolas Zegre

WVU mountain Hydrology Laboratory

Ashley Ward

Duke University

Joshua Fershee

WVU College of Law

Shana Udvardy

Union of Concerned Scientists

Robert Duval

WVU School of Public Health

Brandi Gaertner

Alderson Broaddus University

Ann Chester

WVU Health Sciences and Technology Academy

Andrew Williams

Environmental Defense Fund

Zachary Barkley

Penn State University

Kenneth Davis

Penn State University

Kurt Waltzer

Clean Air Task Force

Tina Cartwright

Marshall University

Jim Probst

WV Citizens Climate Lobby

Dylan Selterman

University of Maryland

Josh Murphy

Yale Center for Climate Change Communications

Derek Johnson

WVU School of Engineering

Omar Aziz

WVU School of Engineering

Lonnie Thompson

Ohio State University

Charles Bayless

WVU Institute of Technology

Thomas Pauley

Marshall University

Patricia Butler

USDA Forest Service

Alton Byers

High Mountains Adaptation Partnership

Elizabeth Byers

WV Division of National Resources

George Constantz

Cacapon Institute

Than Hitt


Kevin Law

Marshall University

Marc McDill

Penn State University

Matthew Peters

USDA Forest Service